Aashrun, Anjana win titles; double crowns for Rudra, Harsh

Aashrun, Anjana win titles; double crowns for Rudra, Harsh

Margao: Aashrun Gautam and Anjana Kumari emerged men’s and women’s singles champions while Rudra Dukle and Harsh Mane won double crowns, at the State Badminton and All Goa Ranking championships organised by BPS Sports Club under the aegis of Goa Badminton Association, at Multipurpose hall, Fatorda.

After emerging second best thrice in a row last season, Floyd Araujo and Fredrick Fernandes clinched the men’s doubles title in the first senior ranking event of this season. For Fredrick, it was his maiden title and he was delighted with the win. In the men’s singles final, Aashrun had it easy against Tejan Fallary, winning comfortably in straight sets.

The women’s final between two of Goa’s finest singles players went the way of Anjana Kumari who registered a clinical straight sets win over Lydia Barreto. For Anjana who missed the whole of last season due to a severe injury, it was a fairy tale comeback.

In the mixed doubles final, top seeds Tejan Fallary and Anushka Kuvelkar cruised to straight sets win over Floyd Araujo and Pranjal Chimulkar while Lydia Barreto and Yasmin Sayed won the women’s doubles titles.

The match of the day was the U- 13 girls singles which was won by Sakshi Kubbghelgi who edged past Jiya Kamat in a closely contested game.

In the U-13 boys final, Harsh Mane who is ranked India number 13 eased past Yash Desai to win the title. In the U-15 categories, Tanushri Shadani who had lost to Trisha Joshi a few times earlier turned the tide with a convincing win over the top seed to clinch the U-15 girls singles title while Rudra Dukle defeated Harsh Mane to win the U-15 boys singles. Voluciano Dourado emerged Veterans 50+ singles winner while Vaman Fallary & Cancio Mascaren emerged winners in the 50+ doubles category.

The U-10 titles were won by Rishi Pai Khot (Boys) and Anaya Kamat (Girls).[H]