Almeida HS top Ponda taluka chess


Almeida High School won the team championship of the 5th SRS Ponda Taluka Chess Tournament, organised by SRS Computers, Ponda.
The tournament saw participation of total 127 school students from 13 schools from Ponda taluka.
In a tough competition, Shubham Sawaikar from IVBD High School scored 7.5 points and bagged the first place in individual category, thus keeping his record of standing first in the previous tournaments.
Vageesh Tendulkar and Aston Dias both with 7.5 points each secured second and third places respectively. Other places went to Sohan Nageshkar, Gaurav Madkaikar, Vineet Madkaikar, Mohit Khandeparkar, Mitra Chodankar, Shaunak Kuncolienkar and Milind Gauns.
Consolation prizes were awarded to Akash Chodankar, Vishwesh Pai, Adinath Shirodkar, Saurabh Prabhu and Vivek Singh with 6.5 points each.
Special prizes were awarded to Sarvam Naik (Best Unrated player), Virendra Sahakari (MIBK HS), Ruthik Shanbhag (Wagle HS), Bhalchandra Gaude (Wagle HS), Rohit Chelluru (Swami Vivekanand HS) and Viraj Naik (Swastik Vidyalaya, Priol).
Prizes and certificates were awarded at the hands of the chief guest Mr Amogh Namshikar, Fide Rated player and Chief Arbiter of the tournament.
Mr Sagar Sakordekar, managing director of SRS Computers welcomed the gathering, while Ms Radha Sakordekar, chief faculty of SRS Computers proposed the vote of thanks. The function was compered by Ms Archana Tendulkar.  [NT]