Anjuman Himayatul win cricket final


Anjuman Himayatul Islam High School, Baina defeated hosts St Joseph’s Institute by 9 wickets in the finals of 32nd President Shield Cricket Tournament at Chicalim grounds, recently.
After winning the toss, St Joseph’s Institute elected to bat first but their batting line-up collapsed.
Anjuman staged a superb bowling performance by bundling out St Joseph’s Institute for merely 57 runs. It was an easy target for Anjuman as they easily managed to win the game by only 9 wickets.
Following prizes were distributed at the hands of the Chief Guest Mr Uday S Naik, Asst Manager of Maintenance Dept, Zuari Agro Chemicals Ltd, former Ranji player for Goa.
Best Bowler: Bharat, Shree Sushenashram High School. Best Batsman: Mahinder, Vidya Mandir High School. Best Fielder: Manav Trehon, St Joseph’s Institute. Man of the Series: Ravi Kumar, Anjuman Himayatul Islam   High School. Man of the Match: Akash Yadav, Anjuman Himayatul.
Final score: St Joseph’s Institute 57 all out in 14.3 overs (Ajay Gunjikar 12, Govind Thakur 16 runs, Akash and Pradyumn 3 wickets each) lost to Anjuman Himayatul  59/1 in 9  overs (Girish 14, Sunil 24 not out, Govind Thakur 1 wicket) by 9 wickets. [NT]