BPCL tt tourney begins today


The 32nd edition of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board’s Inter Unit Table Tennis tournament, organised by Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited, will be held at SAG Complex, here from January 17 to 21.
This edition has attracted participation from 8 member organisation namely ONGC, OIL, IOC, EIL, GAIL, HPCL and IOC (AOD) along with hosts BPCL, informed the organisers during a press briefing held in city on Wednesday.
According to organisers, about 100 players and officials are expected to participate in the tournament.
"The tournament will be conducted over 5 days. The team championships for men, women and veterans will be held on the first two days and individual singles and doubles event for men, women and veterans will be held on the remaining 3 days. The matches will be conducted daily between 9.30 am to 7 pm," organisers said further.
National players such as Olympians Soumyaji Ghosh (BPCL), Achanta Sharath Kamal (IOC), Poulami Ghatak (BPCL), Nega Aggarwal (BPCL), Mouma Das (OIL), Ankita Das and National Champions Soumyadeep Roy (IOC), Subhajit Saha (OIL), K Shamini (IOC) and reigning National Champion A Amal Raj would be seen in action.
Mr SP Gathoo, Director (HR), BPCL, will inaugurate the event on January 17 at 9 am, while Mr T Somnatha, Executive Director (HRS), BPCL would give away the prizes at the prize distribution and closing ceremony, scheduled at 7.30 pm on January 21. [NT]