Cuncolim cops assault accused youth surrender

Cuncolim: Five Cuncolim youth who attacked four cops on Wednesday surrendered before Cuncolim police, who arrested them formally.

Police had arrested two youth on Tuesday. They were produced before court which remanded them in police custody for three days. Early morning on Tuesday 4 o’clock seven drunken youth attacked four police personal Sanjay Gaonkar, Akash Gaonkar, Pramod Kotharkar and Mahesh Naik.

Since then, five youth Sandeep Dessai, Santosh Naik, Shubham Borkar, Saish Dessai and Swapnesh Dessai were absconding. They surrendered on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Cuncolim residents have condemned the youth for attacking the police. They have demanded stringent action those found drinking in public places. [H]