Davorlim champs

Sporting Club of Davorlim beat Nuvem Sports Club 4-3 to emerge champions at Eslinda Alemao memorial trophy inter-village football tournament organized by Navelim Villagers Union at Rosary ground, Navelim. Wednesday. The teams were locked goalless at full time.
The teams kept the festive crowd on their toes as there was plenty of action at either goal but the defenders stood tall.

At the fag end, the teams squandered sitters. Davorlim had the last laugh in the tie-breaker scoring through Jose Colaco, Bruno Costa, Venson Figuiredo and Sandy Colaco. Nevis Noronha, Stanley D’Mello and Cedar Colaco converted for Nuvem. Sporting Club of Davorlim won Rs 40,000 while Nuvem Sports Club had to be content with 30,000.

Former CM, Churchill Alemao was the chief guest and gave away the prizes. Fr Jose Roque Gonsalves, parish priest of Rosary Church, Navelim was the guest of honour. Edwin Cipru Cardozo, Navelim Zilla Parishad member presided. Maria Miranda, ZP member, Davorlim, Herculano Niasso, sarpanch of Davorlim, Paul Pereira, ex-sarpanch of Navelim, Steven Goes, panch of Telaulim, Santarita

Babsush Baretto, panch of Navelim and Romeo Baretto were the special invitees. Earlier, Bishut Themudo, president of Navelim Villagers welcomed. Later he   proposed the vote of thanks. In all, 16 teams participated.

Following individual prizes were awarded: Best goalkeeper Praviraj Joshi (Nuvem SC). First scorer of finals Nevis Noronha (Nuvem SC). Best promising player Dylon D’Costa (Navelim Villagers Union). Best defender Piedade Colaco (Sporting Club Davorlim). Best forward Venson Figueredo (Sporting Club of Davorlim). Best half Cedar Colaco (Nuvem SC). Best player of final Melwyn Figuiredo (Sporting Club of Davorlim). Best disciplined team Uguem Rising, Sanguem. [H]