Follow in the footsteps of Swami Vivekananda, Francis tells students


The Deputy Chief Minister, Mr Francis D’Souza, has called upon the students to follow in the footsteps of Swami Vivekananda.
Mr D’Souza said that the students in Goa have the required potential  and asked them to excel in the field of their choice taking Goa to the pinnacle of glory.
The Deputy Chief Minister, who was speaking at the 20th annual social gathering and prize distribution and felicitation programme of  Dnyanprabhodani Mandal’s Mallikarjun College of Arts and Commerce, held at Delem, Canacona on Saturday, said learning never ends, adding “it is a continuous process and therefore one should keep on learning in his life time and achieve the benchmark.” 
He said the use of internet can also help in achieving knowledge and therefore the use of internet should be made. 
“The students today are lucky as education has reached their doorsteps. At one time students from Goa had to travel to neighbouring states to get a degree,” he said, adding the state government is giving grants to the  students for higher education in India and abroad.
The Deputy Chief Minister expressed happiness that over  60 per cent girls excelled in academics in the institution and complimented the faculty members for their interest in the students involved not only in academics but also in sports.
The Minister for Sports and Youth Affairs, Mr Ramesh Tawadkar could not attend the function. However his message was read on the occasion. In his message, Mr Tawadkar has appealed to the students to distance themselves from bad habits and concentrate on studies and also in sports to achieve excellence.
Dr Jiblo Gaonkar, former Director of  Health Services, Dr Vencotexa Naique Dessai,  eminent cardiologist (Germany), Dr Somnath Komarpant, former professor of Marathi, Goa University and Mr S Kannan, principal of Navodaya Vidhyalaya, Canacona, were felicitated on the occasion at the hands of Deputy Chief Minister for their contribution to the society.  Principal Dr F M Nadaf presented principal’s report on the occasion. Chairman of  Dyanprabhodani  Mandal, Mr Ramdas A Mazalkar presided over the function.
Ms Rupa Chari and Mr Arvind Haldankar compered the function. Convener of the programme, Ms Geeta Walvekar welcomed the guests while Ms Gauravi Bandekar proposed the vote of thanks. [NT]