GPL 4 starts today


 The fourth edition of Goa Premier League Twenty20 will begin on Sunday with Chandigarh side IPCA squaring off with Chowgule Warriors at Goa Cricket Academy ground, Porvorim.
PWD Minister Mr Ramkrishna Dhavalikar will be the special guest for the inaugural ceremony of the tournament, which will see participation of three outstation teams, including one from Sri Lanka, Colombo Warriors. Yes Bank are the main sponsors of the eight-team tournament that will conclude on March 3.
Dempo Cricket Club will take on Sarvodaya Royals in the second match of the opening day in Group B. Salgaocar SC, NRB GSA Stars and Mumbai-based RN Sports are the other teams that will vie for the trophy.
Indian Premier League stars Shadab Jakati, Manvinder Bisla and Swapnil Asnodkar will be seen in action in Porvorim while much will be expected from this season’s costliest buy, Sagun Kamat, of Dempo CC. Goa Ranji players Ravikant Shukla, Sher Bahadur Yadav and Lankan players Malinga Bandara, Kaushalya Weeraratne, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Danajaya Desilva will also seek to hog the spotlight in the event.  [NT]