Jakati to lead Goa in Ranji opener

PANAJI: Left-arm spinner Shadab Jakati will lead Goa in their opening group match of the 2012-13 season of the Ranji Trophy.

The 17-member squad includes two outstation players—wicketkeeper-batsman Manvinder Bisla, who is an IPL regular and middle-order batsman Ravikant Shukla, who had led India U19s to the finals of the 2006 World Cup in Sri Lanka. Opener Sagun Kamat has been named deputy to Jakati in the squad which includes three reserve players.

Goa have been placed in Group C alongside Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Services, Tripura, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir and Assam. Goa play Jammu and Kashmir in their opener on November 9.

Goa squad: Swapnil Asnodkar, Amogh Desai, Manvinder Singh Bisla, Sagun Kamat (vice-captain), Ravikant Shukla, Reagan Pinto, Rohit Asnodkar, Shadab Jakati (captain), Robin D’Souza, Sher Bahadur Yadav, Harshad Gadekar, Sahil Dhuri, Keenan Vaz, Saurabh Bandekar; Reserves – Darshan Misal,  Gaurish Gawas, Rupesh Sarvankar.