Mahila Nutan Trikkanad cricket champs


Mahila Nutan High School proved their supremacy in school cricket as they won the 14th edition of Late Mukund Trikkanad memorial inter-school cricket tournament organised by Margao Cricket Club at Dr Rajendra Prasad Stadium, Margao.
In the finals, Mahila Nutan beat their arch-rivals Bhatikar Model High School by a comfortable margin of six wickets. Bhatikar were asked to bat and scored 156 runs in 37.5 overs with Rohit Naik top-scoring with a run-a-ball 78. Mahila Nutan overhauled the target with ease in 30 overs with Suyash Prabhudesai and Siddhant Salunke coming good with the bat, scoring 40 and 41 respectively.
Former Ranji cricketer and Goa Cricket Association managing committee member Mr Sudin Kamat was the chief guest and gave away the prizes in the presence of the tournament sponsor Mr Dinesh Trikkanad. Former IAS officer Mr Arvind Bhatikar was a special invitee for the prize giving function. [NT]