Mapusa, Parye, Ponda excel


The State Judo Championship under the aegis of Sports Authority of Goa (SAG) was held at Peddem, Mapusa, recently.
Member of Mapusa Municipal Council Ms Meryln D’Souza was the chief guest for the inauguration while Mr Gaurish Dhond gave away the certificates and trophies at the prize distribution function.
Following are the detailed results of Team Championships, Regional Coaching Centre-wise: Ponda Regional Coaching Centre:  Champions in under 12 yrs girls and  runners up under 12 & 15 years boys.  The judokas were trained by SAG coach Mr Rahul Desai. Bhumika Judo Club Parye Sanquelim: Champions in U-20 boys & also girls, runners-up in senior boys.  The judokas were trained by Judo Association General Secretary Mr Siddeshwar Naik. Mapusa RCC: Winners in 15-17 and senior boys and runners up in girls and U-20 boys. Centre coach trained the judokas. Kings High School Margao:  Champions in U-12 boys & 15 years boys, and runners-up in 12 yrs girls.  Judokas were trained by Ex Judoka Ms Bhavani Swami.
Margao Training Centre: Champions in 17 years boys.  The judokas were trained by SAG coach Mr Deepak Netardekar. Panaji Training Centre: Runners-up in 17 and 15 yrs girls category. SAI STC Mapusa: Runners-up in 17 and senior girls centre in charge Mr Satish Bagal trained them. Janata High School Mapusa: Runners-up in under-17.
Best Judoka, in different categories – Pravin Naik, Sakshi Vernekar, Muiz Kazi, Archana Sawant, Pradip Singh, Shreya Kerkar, Arjun Kadam, Sneha Judoka, Shivkaran Kewat and Ivina Miranda all were awarded special trophies.
Prizes and trophies were awarded at the hands of chief guest Mr Gaurish Dhond, sports lover and businessman from Panaji.  General Secretary of Goa Judo Association Mr Siddeshwar Naik welcomed the guests and compered.  Mr Sudesh Tivrekar, Member Executive proposed the vote of thanks.
Mr Surinder Singh Rajput was tournament’s technical director. Mr Mir Dias was assistant tournament director, Mr R V Shintre, chief referee and Mr Rahul Desai, Deepak Netardekar, Mr Vishant Alekar, Mr Shivkaran Kewat, Mr Aditya Kankonkar, Mr Sabaji Naik, Mr Nagesh Hugar worked as referees for
the championship. [NT]