MNSS meeting elects two presidents for Shigmotsav celebration

Vasco: The annual general body meeting of Murgao Nagrik Shigmotsav Samitti (MNSS) concluded with commotion on Thursday evening, forcing the Mormugao municipal council chairperson Nandadeep Raut to declare two presidents of MNSS namely Shekhar Khadapkar and Deepak Naik to celebrate this year’s Shigmotsav celebration.

The annual general body meeting of MNSS was convened by the MMC chief officer Gaurish Shankwalkar as per the directions issued by the department of Tourism in order to elect new executive committee members for celebrating this years Shigmotsav celebration in the council hall at 5.30 pm on Thursday. The meeting was chaired by MMC chairperson Raut.

The citizens who attended the meeting alleged misconduct of previous years (2019) financial statement. After a ruckus, MMC chairperson Raut decided to elect a new president for this year’s Shigmotsav celebration. Two names of Khadapkar and Naik was finalised for the president’s post. As none of them withdrew their names in support of each other, it was decided to elect the president on lots system. The MMC chairperson Raut however considering his decision as final announced both Khadapkar and Naik to be the new presidents of MNSS.

The announcement has raised shock among the citizens who attended the meeting. It was first of its kind decision in the history of the Shigmotsav celebration that two persons are elected as president at the same time.

While addressing a press conference, MMC chairperson Raut disclosed that “The signing powers for the Shigmotsav celebration will be given to Naik, and incase with the enforcement of code of conduct for the Zilla Panchayat election, the signing powers will be issued to Khadapkar.” [NT]