MPDA approves construction of 500 residential flats


The Mormugao Planning and Development Authority (MPDA), on Friday, has passed a resolution to allow construction of 500 residential flats, majority in Sancoale and Issorcim panchayat jurisdiction in the Cortalim constituency, while the rest in the Dabolim constituency. Out of the total 12 members of the MPDA, 3 members namely, Minister for Power and Housing, Mr Milind Naik, Vasco MLA, Mr Carlos Almeida and Mormugao Municipal Council chairperson, Ms Fiola Rego did not attend the meeting.
The six members who supported the resolution to allow  construction of 500 residential flats include, MPDA chairman, Mr Krishna Salkar, Dabolim MLA, Mr Mauvin Godinho, deputy chairperson of MMC, Mr Sudesh Kolgaonkar, MMC councillor, Ms Bhavana Bhosle, Mr Sanjay Satardekar and Mr Shashi Parab.
While, the Minister for Forest and Environment, Ms Alina Saldanha, and Mr Ravi Luis opposed the resolution, one more member, Mr Narayan Naik, the sarpanch of Sancoale village panchayat, did not express his consent to the resolution. Speaking to ‘The Navhind Times’, Minister for Forest and Environment, Ms Alina Saldanha said that she has opposed the resolution as large scale construction is being carried out in her constituency.[NT]