Niraj Saripalli wins Jetty Chess title


Niraj Saripalli won the 3rd All Goa Open Rapid Chess Tournament organised by Jetty Cricket Club under the aegis of Goa Chess Association and Mormugao Taluka Chess Association at Deepvihar Secondary School Gymnasium, Headland-Sada. Rohan Ahuja bagged the runners-up position.

In all, 92 players participated in the tournament and played in nine rounds in Swiss System.

Results: Open Category: Niraj Saripalli (8.5 points), Rohan Ahuja (7.5 points), Ritviz Parab (7.5 points), Cruz Wilson (7 points), Shane Braganza (6.5 points), Nandini Saripalli (6.5 points), Hadkonkar Gauri (6.5 points), Deeptesh Karmalkar (6.5 points), Brendon Peroz (6.5 points) and P M Kantak (6 points).

Age-group category: U-7 yrs: Shivank Kuncolienkar (6 points), Gunjal Chopdekar (5 points). U-9 yrs: Krystal Fernandes (6 points), Swera Braganza (5.5 points). U-11 yrs: Tushar K (6 points), Anirudh Parsekar (5.5 points). U-13 yrs: Vageesh Tendulkar (5.5 points), Bandekar Urvi (5 points). U-15 yrs: Sayani Kerkar (6 points), Sharmad Bodke(6 points).

The winners in the open category were awarded cash prizes while the winners in the age group category were awarded cash prizes and trophies. Mr Milind Naik, Minister for Power was the chief guest and Mr Ashish Keni, President Goa Chess Association was the guest of honour.