Outstation teams for GPL


“Three outstations teams from Colombo, Mumbai and Chandigarh will take part alongwith five Goan teams in the fourth edition of Goa Premier League T-20 cricket tournament,” announced Vinod Phadke, GCA president during the draw at GCA Academy, Porvorim, Thursday.
Previous edition champions Salgaocar CC are pooled in group A alongwith RN Sports Club (Mumbai), Colombo Warriors (Sri Lanka) and NRB GSA while runners-up Dempo CC, IPCA (Chandigarh), Sarvodaya Royals and Chowgule Warriors complete the group B.
“The inclusion of the three outstation teams will raise the standards and allow good exposure to the Goan players. The outstation teams will consist around 10 ex-international players which cannot be named at the moment,” said Phadke.
The opening ceremony is slated for February 23 at 7.30 where the trophies will be unveiled. The prize money for the champions is eight lakhs while the runners-up will cash in four lakhs. The semi-finalist will receive one lakh each while the man-of-the-match will be awarded Rs 10,000.
A total of 12 league matches, two semi-finals and a final will be played. There will be no entry fees for the spectators which may exceed 5,000 for every match in the two stands.
“Tight security arrangements have been made while special dug outs will be prepared for the teams. The press rooms will also be fully functioning,” added the president.
Amongst those present were Suraj Lotlikar, vice-president; Chetan Desai, GCA secretary; Akbar Mulla, treasurer and members Manohar Naik, Villas Dessai and Sudin Kamat. [H]