Rs 12 crore sanctioned for development works at Bicholim, says Parrikar

The government has sanctioned about Rs 12 crore for the different proposed development works in Bicholim constituency.

This announcement was made by the Chief Minister, Mr Manohar Parrikar, at a special meeting held recently at his chambers at the secretariat. Bicholim MLA, Mr Naresh Sawal, vice- chairperson of Bicholim Municipal Council (BMC) Mr Narayan Betkekar and senior officers of different government departments were present for the meeting.

It was informed that the Chief Minister had asked the officers to take all necessary steps to undertake the proposed development works on priority basis.

The government has decided to move the services of the Bicholim primary health centre to the newly constructed Bicholim hospital building, and this is likely to be inaugurated by January 15, 2013. All the modern health care and medical facilities will be provided in the upgraded PHC, it was informed.

Mr Sawal further informed that various demands of the locals were also discussed. He said that Mr Parrikar gave a green signal for various proposed development works in Bicholim constituency which include a sport complex at Lakherem village, new building complex to accommodate Bicholim fire station and police station with parking facility, new market complex extension with 3 storied building, modification of KTC bus stand and a mini Ravindra Bhavan.

Mr Parrikar asked the heads of different concerned departments to visit the sites, prepare plans for the said proposed works and complete the necessary formalities so that it would be possible to undertake these works on priority basis, said Mr Sawal.

Besides Mr Sawal and Mr Betkekar, others who were present at the meeting were chief engineer of water resource department, Mr Sandeep Nadkarni, the MD of infrastructure development corporation, Mr Sanjeet Rodrigues, director of Municipal Administration, Mr Sandeep Jacquies, the director of the art and culture department, Mr Prasad Lolyenkar and director of sports, Mr V M Prabhudessai. [NT]