Sangolda lift Goveia Soccer Cup

Sangolda Lightning Sports Club edged Milagres Sports Club Mapusa 8-7 in penalty shootout to lift the 7th Pio Jose Goveia Memorial Soccer Cup, organised by Youth Club of Colvale at Colvale Church grounds on Sunday.

It was a brilliant fightback by the Sangolda side, who trailed by two goals till the 65th minute of the match and levelled terms through Llyod Mascarenhas and Yogesh Mayekar placement to drag the match into penalties. Milagres had earlier drawn the first blood in the 20th minute through a superb volley by Shailesh Misquin and then, on crossing over, Stevan Fernandes’ 20-yard shot left Sangolda keeper Washington rooted to the ground to concede the second goal to the Mapusa side.
In the tie-breaker, Sachin Chopdekar, Nikhil Naik, Joseph Costa, Llyod Mascarenhas, Washington Pereira and Yogesh Mayekar shot on target for Sangolda, while for Milagres colts, Noel Viegas, Simon Fernandes, Stevan Fernandes, Aires Fernandes, and Prakash Pondekar scored but Alvito’s shot hit the side post.
Sangolda claimed the winners cash prize of ` 1,00,000 along with the trophy, while Milagres fetched ` 50,000 and the runners-up trophy for their efforts. Tivim MLA Mr Kiran Kandolkar gave away the trophies in presence of Colvale Parish Priest Fr Johnsie Pereira, fashion designer Mr Wendell Rodricks and special invitees—GFA vice president Mr Lavino Rebello and GFA executive committee members Mr Babli Mandrekar and Mr Uday Lingudkar. YC Colvale’s officials, president Mr Wynne Paul, secretary Mr Dominic Pereira and treasurer Mr James Paul later introduced the chief guest, Chief Minister Mr Manohar Parrikar, who interacted with the players and the officials and offered his government’s support for football development activities in the village.
Individual prizes were awarded to: upcoming player – Alston Rocha (YC Colvale), most enthusiastic player – Rio Fernandes (YC Colvale), best goal of the tournament – Lawrence Fernandes (PVC Parra), best discipline team – Sinquerim SC, Mayem, best goalkeeper – Washington Pereira (Sangolda Lightning), man-of-the-match – Shailesh Misquin (Milagres), man-of-the-tournament – Seby D’Costa. [NT]