Siolim emerge champs


Siolim Handball Club got the better of Nuvem 15-10 to emerge champions of Unity Cup in the men’s section organized by Pernem Handball Club in memory of Pushpawati Sawal for teams from Goa and Sindhudurg District of Maharastra at Viscount ground, Pernem.
In the women’s section, St Joseph Shiroda edged past Nuvem Handball Club 11-10 to emerge victorious.
Individual prizes (men’s section) — Best player of tournament: Dinesh Hadfadkar (Siolim). Best goalkeeper: Roshan Salgaonkar (Siolim). Women’s section — Best player of tournament: Zahra Cardozo (St Joseph). Best goalkeeper: Julie R (St Joseph).
In all, eight teams participated in the men’s section including Nuvem, Navelim, President Margao, Siolim, Rosary Navelim, Banda Boys, St Joseph Shiroda and hosts Pernem. In the women’s section, six teams including United Margao, Navelim, Nuvem, St Joseph Shiroda, Blue Knights Calangute and hosts Pernem took part.
Nagesh Gosavi, headmaster of Vikas HS Pernem, Ramesh Dessai, Devendra Dessai, Salvino D’Costa, Ratnakar Rao, Prashant Dhargalkar, Timraj M and Shriram Naik were among those present at the valedictory function. Anant Sawal proposed the vote of thanks.
Earlier, Ramesh Dessai, chairman of Goa Handball Association, Rupesh Mahatme, Salvino D’Costa, Anant Sawal, Shriram Naik, Prashant Dhargalkar, Ratnakar Rao, Timraj M, Subodh Mahale, Viraj Shetye, Premanand H and Nandadeep Ambekar were among those present for the opening ceremony. [H]