Home / Politics / Small parties get votes, not numbers

Small parties get votes, not numbers

Panaji: Despite big names like Atanasio ‘Babush’ Monserrate and Francisco ‘Mickky’ Pacheco contesting from smaller parties, they failed to win any seats in the 2017 assembly election. Smaller parties in the state, excluding those which were part of an alliance, garnered close to 20,500 votes altogether.The United Goans Party that contested two seats for the first time, received more than 8,500 votes with Monserrate bringing in 6,855 votes and standing second in Panaji constituency.Goa Su-Raj Party which fielded eight candidates scored more than 5,700 votes while the five candidates of Goa Vikas Party (GVP) received more than 5,300 votes.
Candidates from smaller parties came in fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth and even ninth in various assembly constituencies.Pacheco who contested the election on a Goa Su-Raj party ticket received over 4,000 votes, but lost by a margin of about 5,600 votes to Congress candidate Wilfred ‘Babashan’ D’Sa. In Cortalim, GVP’s Nelly Rodrigues came in fourth, but scored a sizeable 3,380 votes.The Bahujan Mukti Party that contested three seats and the Communist Party of India each received more than 250 votes.
The Samajwadi Janata Party (Chandrashekar) polled 133 votes in Porvorim, the sole constituency it contested in while the Niz Goenkar Revolution Front received only 115 votes in Vasco da Gama and Dabolim constituencies.In Velim, the constituency that witnessed the largest number of candidates, the Ambedkarite Party of India came in 12th with 44 votes. The 2017 election did not see any candidates from the All India Trinamool Congress contest. In 2012, the party had unsuccessfully contested 20 seats.
The Janata Dal (United) party that contested five seats in the 2012 assembly election, too, did not contest the elections this this around.The All India Minorities Front (AIMF), Jai Maha Bharath Party (JMBP), Republican Party of India RPI (A) and the United Goans Democratic Party that contested the 2012 elections, too, did not field candidates in the 2017 election.The Communist Party had contested three seats in 2012. The Amedkarite Party of India and Bahujan Mukti Party had not contested the 2012 elections either. [TOI]

About admin

Check Also

Fatorpa slips out of Cong, BJP; may move into GFP fold

MARGAO: Slipped out of the hands of Congress and BJP, the Fatorpa Panchayat is now …