Vishal Singh stars in Dempo win


Dempo Cricket Club posted their first win of the 4th edition of GPL T20 tournament as they overwhelmed Chowgule Warriors by 8 wickets at GCA academy grounds, Tuesday.
Vishal Singh starred with an unbeaten 57(29b, 2×4, 5×6) as Dempo CC reached 135 for 2 in 15 overs in reply to Chowgule’s 133 for 8 off their allotted 20 overs.
Batting first, Chowgule Warriors were restricted to 133 for 8 with modest contributions from their batsmen. Rohan Belekar and Rahul Keni both scored an identical 22 runs while Kevin DCosta chipped in with 26 low down the order.
For Dempo CC,Vishal Singh with 3 for 22 was the chief wicket-taker while Rajesh Powar returned 2 for 25. Sher Bahadur Yadav claimed 1 for 27.
Dempo’s reply was very impressive as they knocked off the required runs in just 15 overs, reaching 135 for 2. Vishal Singh’s unbeaten 57 was the highlight of Dempo’s chase. Sahabuddin scored 38 while opener Sagun Kamat remained unbeaten on 32. Dhanraj Singh and Vidhyadhar Kamat were the wicket-takers for Chowgule.
In the day’s second match, Sarvodaya Royals defeated IPCA, Chandigarh by 58 runs.
Sarvodaya raised an imposing total of 195 for 6, but saw their rivals managing only 137 for 4 despite Abhishek (59) and Jeetendra (54) scoring fifties. Earlier, left-arm spinner Shadab Jakati showed his all-round skills with an unbeaten 69 to boost Sarvodaya’s total. He later bowled an economical spell and claimed 1 for 23 off 4 overs. [NT]