Wesley, Urmila win double crown


 The 46th Madhav Rao State Open Table Tennis Championships, organised by the Goa Table Tennis Association (GTTA) in association with the Sports Authority of Goa (SAG) at the Indoor Stadium, Campal, came to an exciting finish on Sunday as the audience witnessed some thrilling table tennis through the evening.
Vaidik Shrivastava won the mini cadet boys crown by defeating Jayden Monteiro 11-4, 11-4, 11-2. The mini cadet girls title was claimed by the young and enthusiastic Ravisha Kudchadkar who beat Aditi Chodankar in a five set thriller 4-11, 14-12, 9-11, 11-9, 11-8.
The cadet category finals saw some excellent table tennis from the bats of Wesley DoRosario (Fomento Resources) in the boys category and Tanisi Kirtani in the girls category. Wesley beat Varun Gangodkar 11-3, 11-3, 11-3 while Tanisi beat Prutha Parrikar 11-7, 11-4, 11-6.
The sub-junior boys finals saw Wesley DoRosario (Fomento Resources) beat Keval Tamankar 11-8, 11-8, 11-8 while in the sub-junior girls final Urmila Mense beat Tanisi Kirtani 11-8, 12-14, 11-9, 6-11, 11-9.
In the junior boys final Sidhanth Parekh rallied to beat Wesley DoRosario 8-11, 6-11, 12-10, 11-3, 11-8 while in the junior girls category Urmila Mense beat Tanisi Kirtani 11-5, 11-6, 7-11, 11-8.
The ladies final saw an upset with Alisha Alfonso going down to Divya D’Mello 8-11, 9-11, 11-7, 9-11. The men final saw a battle royale enfold between P Adarsh and Diljeet Velingkar. Eventually, in the ensuing thriller, P Adarsh got the better of Diljeet 11-3, 9-11, 11-4, 11-/, 7-11, 11-9.
Superintendent of Police (CID) Mr Atmaram Deshpande was the chief guest and gave away the prizes. Mr Ashok Mahambre (Secretary GTTA) welcomed and introduced the chief guest. Mr Vero Nunes (president GTTA) proposed the vote of thanks.
Certificates of merit were distributed to the ranking players. Mr Colin Savio Coelho compered. [NT]