Wilred Leisure clinch Lalit Trophy

Wilred Leisure Sports Club, Curtorim drubbed Dramapur Sports Club 4-0 to emerge winners of 3rd Lalit Cup all-Goa inter-village football tournament organized by Lions Club of Canacona at Devabhag ground, Saturday.Man-of-the-tournament Milagres Fernandes struck twice in second half to increase his tournaments tally to eight goals, after Deslie Fernandes and Sertorio Monteiro scored neatly during the 10th and 20th minutes almost taking the fighting morale out of the Dramapur boys.

Resuming in the second half, Dramapur boys failed to put up a fight, as Wilred beat the defense on numerous occasions and attacking the goalkeeper, who thwarted over a dozen of attempts.

Kathy Pereira
LALIT HEROES:Wilred Leisure, winners of Lalit Football Cup, receiving the winner’s trophy from Sports Minister Ramesh Tawadkar, Dr Jyotsna Suri, Ajay Bhagat, Ulhas Phaldessai, Vishwas Dessai and others at Devabhag ground, Canacona, Saturday.

Wilred Leisure received the glittering Lalit Trophy and Rs 65,000. Dramapur had to be content with Rs 30,000 and a Trophy.

Other prizes — Man-of-the-match: Sertorio Monteiro. First scorer of final: Deslie Fernandes. Surprise prize  (last player to touch the ball in the final): Benson Fernandes (Dramapur). Best goalkeeper of the tournament: Paresh Pagui (Canacona Sports Academy). Player-of-the tournament: Milagres Fernandes. Best disciplined team: Uguem Rising Club, Sanguem.

Sports Minister Ramesh Tawadkar, chief guest and Dr Jyotsna Suri, Lalit Suri Hospitality Group CMD gave away the prizes in the presence of guest of honour, CMC chairperson Ajay Bhagat, Ulhas Phaldessai, Lion president, Vishwas Dessai, organizing chairman and others. [H]